AMIT VARDHAN: The man who taught me the ‘Sign Language of Love’!

aRTIST of the month Amit

Congratulations Amit Vardhan, for being featured as the ‘Artist of the Month‘ for June, 2017!!

SPEECH doesn’t become a barrier when you’re blessed with a talent that is creative, colorful, beautiful and connects people. You can surpass any hurdle and inspire others! That is precisely, what Amit  personifies. He is the man who taught me the ‘Sign Language of Love’!

Language of love

Since my first interaction with Amit in August 2016, I had been curious to know more about him and see more of his artwork.

Last year, I was busy sharing stories about my own Artwork in my stall, where I had exhibited my work and suddenly I saw Amit waving a hand at me. I smiled and said, ‘Hi’. He smiled back. He suddenly made a sweet gesture using his hands, complimenting me on my artwork, not just once but multiple times. Then he held my hand and gestured to walk with him to his stall, which was 2 blocks away from where my Exhibition was held.

I looked around and saw lot of goodies like notebooks, handbags etc. in his stall and to be honest, at that moment my first thought was, ‘oh…ok…nothing special about it, these are just notebooks’….but the moment Amit proudly pointed (with a huge smile on his face) towards the lovely illustrations done by him on each of those goodies, I could only fell in awe of his lovely talent. He tops it with a huge curve on his lips each time you see him. I still own one of his works, that he had gifted me during my first Exhibition. He calls that work as ‘Freedom’! Thank you, Amit!

I had always been curious about how Artists share their work and whether everyone gets it easy? Last month, I ended up meeting Amit again, at Oxford Bookstore, in Connaught Place, Delhi. I wanted to grab some nice tea at Cha Bar and saw Amit waving at me from his stall. I invited him to join me for a cup of tea, which he very willingly accepted.

Few moments went by in Silence….as I was at a loss thinking how to start the conversation because I didn’t know the Sign Language but I was suddenly touched by the way Amit instantly made me feel comfortable by ‘writing his answer on a paper napkin‘ after I gestured asking him, “How are you doing, Amit?”.

I suddenly felt at ease and then we both could only smile while looking at the Cha Bar guys who were staring at both of us for ‘wasting their paper napkins’, but who knows that we were only enjoying our conversation and creating memories! 🙂

tissue papers and speech

After our regular chit-chat, Amit started telling me about his experience at his stall and I had this sudden instinct to share more about such wonderful talent with the rest of the world, and hence this post.. that was long due.

Me: “Amit, what do you enjoy drawing/painting/sketching more?

Amit: “Abstract, Nature, Live sketches”… (as he writes his reply on the paper napkin)

Me: “I still remember the ‘Freedom’ artwork that you had done for me and gifted me last year. Do you?

Amit: “Yes, Yes!!“.. (with a huge smile)

Me: “Do you keep meeting new people here? Have you made any good friends?”

Amit: “Yes, I have but these days I get very bored.”

Me: “Why so?”

Amit: “People hardly visit the bookstore as vacations are going on and summers are here. Sales have also dropped for the same reasons. Feels like a long day.”

Me: “Amit, you are so good at painting. Why don’t do you start painting here itself while you have ample free time at your stall as you mentioned! This way you won’t get bored and who knows someone might love your paintings and even buy those!”

Amit: “Yes, yes. That’s a good idea! Thank you so much!

And then we continued with our chat over a few cups of tea before I took his permission to write about him on my blog, to which he very willingly agreed and also allowed me to click his pictures.

Live Sketch by Amit

I returned home highly motivated with a decision of telling more people about Amit’s talent and a wish that his work gets noticed even more. So here’s my little attempt towards it.

Amit is associated with Atulyakala as a Visual Artist. He has also been a part of the The Goodwill Project of Atulyakala.

Send more love to Amit, at his Instagram ID:

https://www.instagram.com/amit_vardhan/

Some shots of our Mr. Artist and his creations:

 

Go, grab his awesome creations at his stall at Oxford Bookstore, CP!! I tell you, his smile is going to win you over!!

Love & Hugs,

~ Preet

(Keep following this blog to know about more of interesting talent, get featured, read more on Art that connects!)

 

Leave a comment